RIP Mr. Garmin

photo

I mentioned in my last post that my Garmin (Forerunner 610) has bit the dust. RIP Mr. Garmin.

It was getting slower to respond then one day refused to react to any stimuli, plugged in or not. I’ve contacted Garmin. For $99+tax, they will replace it with a refurbished unit. If it was still under warranty it would be FREE. I laid down some hefty money for that thing, so $99 seems doable.

I miss my numbers. I want to know my pace, I want to get my 3.00 (errr… 3.01) mile runs, I want to record all my runs on garmin.com and sync them to dailymile.com. THIS WAS MY LIFE. It gave my running structure, routine, control.

But without my Garmin, I’m ok. I run and don’t worry about the time or pace. I’ve been focusing just on distance. It’s weird not checking my wrist every few minutes for my pace, but it’s ultimately a healthier way to run. I think there are advantages to each and I’d never try out running without it unless forced to. Of course when I get it back I’m sure I’ll be glued to it again, but for now I’m ok without it.

Do you rely on numbers when you workout? Or are you more about enjoying the experience (ie, Zumba)?

Have you ever bought refurbished items to save some money? Good experience, bad experience? I want to know what to expect….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

