The Day Elizabeth Ran

That’s right, kiddos. I RAN. It was wonderful.

My Garmin broke. This has been a convenient excuse for a while because I am ALL about the numbers. It was freeing to not use it on this first run. I had few expectations. I ran for a while, I walked for a while, ran for a while, walked for a while. In all I went around 3 miles, most of it walking, but no pressure.

I’m often jealous (envious? or just admiring?) of my coworker who talks about going 6, 7 miles a few times a week. “If only I can go 5 miles,” has always been my goal. I LOVE going further, but 5 miles has always been the standard for me. It seems like a good distance to just up and go. Anyway, I found out she only runs for the cardio benefits and actually stops to walk a decent amount.

If you walk more than half of a half marathon, don’t you still say you ran a half marathon? Yes. If I walk 2 miles and run 1, am I still a runner? Yes. I did both my marathons at a run 1 mile, walk 1 minute schedule.

photo 2

What do you think? Does running+walking equal running?

What are your plans for the weekend?

Do you run or are you working your way up to running?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

