Not burn out, just resting

So… I allegedly ran 13.1(1!) miles a week and a half ago.

What now?

I laid low for a while. I did yoga two days after the race (that was hard). I told myself I wouldn’t run for the week following the race, but broke that on Friday evening (so close to making it a week..). I wanted to run. I did 4 miles and was surprised at how hard it was at a stellar 12:00 pace. I felt good physically before the run but I think my body was trying to tell me it wasn’t ready to run quite yet. Although I was very gung-ho about running during my training, I don’t think I’m burnt out. I’m enjoying the time off for now.

I started the 100 push-up challenge on Sunday since I somehow have it in my mind that I’m hiking Half Dome sometime this year. Nevermind the fact that you need to apply for a permit 4 months in advance and it’s 2,000 miles away. Enough time has passed since the backpack-the-Grand-Canyon adventure that I’m ready for a new challenge. Plus, I just ran a half marathon and will have run a second by the time I could get a permit. I did this hike in 2005, and then this guy and this guy in 2010. I may have wanted to die after Tanner, but that’s all just a fond sweet memory now.

I went to yoga this past Monday and, aside from the extreme humidity and heat, it went much better than the week before. I’ll try running tonight.

This entry was posted in Challenges, Half Dome, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not burn out, just resting

  1. Astro says:

    I really like the new layout. It’s awesome. Good luck on Half Dome, it looks like a lot of fun.

    As a coach, I have to warn you to take it easy. Let your body recover naturally, then you can get back into the swing of things. And keep drinking. You may not be thirsty but your body is.

Leave a Reply

