Fallacy or truth?

“I’m a slow runner because I’m thirty pounds overweight.” Am I making excuses?

  • when I lose the weight I will get faster
  • I’m just neglecting speedwork
  • I’m genetically predisposed to be a slow runner
  • all of the above?

I feel like this training schedule has my body teetering at its injury threshold (thanks to Lesley for teaching me this concept).

I’ve gained precisely 3 lbs since starting the training. I’m currently a happy camper at 155 but really looking forward to a “normal” BMI come mid-June. Looks like I could have registered as Athena for this race.

This entry was posted in Half, Running, Weight Loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fallacy or truth?

  1. Fran says:

    Recognizable post. I’m a slow runner too and I do think part of that is because I’m a bit overweighted. I’ve gained too during half marathon training and will work on that after I’ve run it. I do want to get faster because right now I’m finishing in the back almost everytime. I will never finish in the front but I will be happy when I finish in the middle of all the runners.

    That means speedwork in my next schedule. This one had it too but I neglected it too.

  2. Fran is right, if you want to get faster you have to do speed work. Your weight is much less a factor. I used to coach for Team in Training and have seen runners of all shapes run fast.

    And fast is a relative term, most of us will never be in the front 25%, but like you said finishing in the middle 50% is awesome.

    Want some suggestions or advice, I’d be happy to email it to you.

    • elizabethlacy says:

      Then what do you make of people who just start running and are very fast? Is that just genetics?

      I plan on focusing on speedwork and weight loss after the IL half. There’s another half in August I’m hoping to shave a lot of time off for, but we’ll see. My body doesn’t seem to be able to handle much more than what I’m putting it through right now (that injury threshold).

Leave a Reply

