Today is the best day of the rest of my life.

Yesterday was a great day. My schedule was booked from 8AM until 9:45PM and it was wonderful. I felt purposeful, productive, and generous. I got stuff done, my day included time spent with good friends, and it all culminated in another great run.

I wouldn’t say my knee is healed, but I can run without pain. I iced a lot last night and it’s a little achy now, but I can deal.

Today is a day I can handle. Today I know I can run (even if I should let my knee rest). Today I know that I’m progressively becoming a stronger runner. Today I’m wearing a belt that before yesterday has never ever ever fit. Today I know that this world is beautiful, and I have the freedom to do whatever I want. Today is the first day of the rest of my life, and it’s a wonderful day. Running has given me this outlook. I might be addicted but I know I’m not alone. I know that as long as I play it smart I can have running for the rest of my life.  April 30th may be my first half marathon but even if it’s not there are plenty of halves to be had.

There’s something inherently primal and natural about running. I love this. I was made to run. I may not have been made to run endurance, but my body was made to run.

Today is the best day of the rest of my life. Until tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

