Half training: Week 2

So far so good on the half training! I haven’t missed any runs yet, and I’ve been to yoga once a week. I’m tossing around the idea of doing yoga twice a week and/or swimming. No promises yet. :) This was the first week of classes so things are a bit stressful.

Monday’s yoga was good. I woke up a bit sore across my shoulders the next day so mission accomplished.

Tuesday’s run was one of the best I’ve had (it ranks up there with the Indy Moonlight 4-Miler and a random 5.5-miler in December up at my parents’). I ran through the neighborhood and on campus after work. It was dark and quiet on the neighborhood streets, spotted with people on campus, then back to quiet at the end. I wore the Yaks which make a funny noise on the pavement. There were lots of little hills, and I felt strong though I wasn’t running very quickly. Averaged 11:00.

Thursday’s run was cold again (temp 20/WC 10) with snow. I ran at lunchtime. Many of the sidewalks were plowed but not all. I was running on a long stretch that wasn’t plowed and overheard two other runners comparing the change between unplowed sidewalk and the plowed street at an intersection to stepping off a treadmill. The snow was deep enough that it was similar to running on sand. I put forth my best effort but it was tough to maintain a good pace AND tell that snow where it needed to go! I ran The Hill. Averaged 11:30.

Saturday’s run was my second group run with the training group. I had fun running with two people the entire time. Conversation is a nice distraction. I was even able to finish with a small burst of speed at the end. It was very cold and windy though (temp 6/WC -2). We averaged 11:20.

Total mileage: 12

Earlier I was a bit bummed about my average paces, but I was overlooking that I’m running in trying conditions: extreme cold, sand-like snow, above average headwind, etc. I’ve decided recently that I don’t care as much what my pace is when there’s at least one significant challenge. I’m going to run a pace that feels challenging but also takes into account the length of the run. I was aiming for 11:00 on that Saturday run, but it just wasn’t worth it. It was hard enough as it was.

I’ve also realized that running is a balance of dedication and sanity. The Saturday morning run could have been completed later in the day, on a different day, on a treadmill, or not at all. Any of those might have been a saner choice. I spoke with another local runner who ran on Friday morning (our coldest day so far: temp -11/WC ?). He said that, among other things, he was curling under his toes between every strides to maintain warmth. That’s my line between dedication and sanity.

This entry was posted in Half, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half training: Week 2

  1. Fran says:

    Well done on last weeks training!

    I have planned all my runs till my half in April and I hardly ever run at a different day or time than planned. Because my life is pretty busy as it is and I don’t have much other options. So if it’s cold or raining or even snowing on Saturday morning I still go for my run because I know myself and just know it won’t happen in the afternoon.

    • elizabethlacy says:

      That makes a lot of sense. I think I might be doing the same subconsciously. If I don’t go Mondays & Thursdays it throws off Saturdays and vice versa!

Leave a Reply

