Half-Marathon Training Started

Where to even start?

I registered for the half at the Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon. This event eludes me. I want this medal to be my first. It’s only three years old but I’ve already flirted with this event so much.

Quick timeline:

  • June 2008: Elizabeth starts running
  • July 2008: Elizabeth wins Nike+ in a raffle and flirts with the idea of running Nike’s Human Race at the end of August (10K)
  • August 2008: Elizabeth comes to her senses and runs the Mahomet 5K instead, first race ever
  • September 2008: Elizabeth loves running
  • October 2008: Elizabeth hears about the very first Illinois Marathon and figures she can run it if she joins local running club’s training group. Training group requires 6 miles by December.
  • November 2008: Elizabeth tries too much too soon to get to the 6 miles and is out of commission as of the first training group run

I had already registered for the half and paid for the training group. I gave up on running and figured it was just too easy to get injured. Instead I volunteered at packet pick-up the night before and volunteer check-in (aka finish chute set-up) the day of. I had a blast but felt like I was on the wrong side of the table. I got the sweet tech shirt but I really should have been running.

Last year I volunteered setting up the huge balloons mile markers along the course.

This year.. this is the year I run it (I hope). I’ve registered for the half and the training group which started this past week.

Kick-Off Event

Last Tuesday was the kick-off for the training group. The program consists of long runs on Saturday mornings, a couple speaker sessions, a 15K in early April, and a celebration post-race party. Included in the price is a long-sleeve tech shirt and a year membership to the running club. Not bad, eh? One of the organizers remembered me from two years ago even though I just attended the first run. I was impressed!

First Run

Unfortunately, I woke up Saturday morning for the first run and the temperature was 8 with a windchill of -8. I’ve never run in anything colder than the teens so I felt guilty but decided against going. I don’t have the gear to run in that cold. I didn’t miss my run, though. I looked at the forecast and saw that the windchill would be highest around 2PM (a whopping 6 degrees) so I ran 5 miles then. I’m sad I missed the first run but no regrets otherwise. I froze my tuckus off! It was a slow 11:13 but again, awfully cold. I saw three deer and four cold kitties. I can’t imagine running that morning at 8AM. When I got home I tried to warm up under a blanket but my cold body had the opposite effect on the insulating layer of air (think beer cooler vs. hot soup in a thermos). I hopped in the shower after an hour and finally warmed up. I don’t think I realized how cold my core got when I was running. I’m glad I made it back safely.

3-Day vs. 4-Day

The training program has two schedules: running 3-day/wk vs. 4-day/wk. Ideally I’d like to get to the 4-day so I can incorporate tempo runs, but I need to respect where I am fitness-wise. This week the 3-day program calls for (4-5,) 2-3, 2-3, 4, and the 4-day program calls for (4-5,) 3, 2, 3, 4. I chose to go for 5 on Saturday so I’m sticking with 3-day this week (they’re somewhat interchangeable). I need to keep my overachieving drive in check and my tendons happy. There’s no award for most complete training schedule. We all start at the same line come April 30th.

This entry was posted in Half, Interim and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Half-Marathon Training Started

  1. abbi says:

    Yay on starting the half plan – you’ll get that medal!

  2. Dee says:

    GET IT GIRL! I’m so proud of you! :)

  3. Melissa says:

    Fun!! I love starting training plans!

  4. Lauren says:

    I am excited for the Christie Clinic event too! I’m running the marathon, and I think it’s great you’re training with a group!

    One thing that I incorporated into my trianing program is switching weeks of 3 days v/s 4 days of running. I know that schedules will change a bit, but generally I’ll switch off between those two.

Leave a Reply

