Weeks 2 & 3 and a new goal

Here’s how weeks 2 and 3 went:

For whatever reason, week 3’s runs didn’t go as well as others. I had a particularly tight left calf for the Thursday run so I didn’t feel bad when Sunday’s run didn’t work out logistically. I felt like both of those runs last week were laborious (though I felt very strong for the 5.6 mi the week before). I am very happy that I was able to swim on Wednesday, though I know I won’t make my biking goal for the month.

Whatever the reason, I have a new goal right now: weight loss.

I mentioned previously that I’d like to lose some weight between my two training plans (Nov 7th and Jan 7th). I’ve been tracking my calories at livestrong.com. I want to reduce stress on my joints and tendons by getting under 150 (a “normal weight” BMI) for the half-marathon training. In the long run I know I need to be closer to 125 since I have a small bone structure. With my current time frame it will likely be closer to 152 by Jan 7th. We’ll see.

 

Here’s how I’m doing so far:

Oct 30: 162.0

Nov 10: 161.0

Nov 17: 159.6

Nov 24: 158.4

I’ll weigh myself again on Dec 1st and see how this month rounds out. So far I’m pleased, but I feel my motivation and discipline dipping a little. Being away from my schedule and routine last week didn’t help.

This entry was posted in Interim, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weeks 2 & 3 and a new goal

  1. Melissa says:

    You are doing well with the weight loss. Just focus on how far you’ve come and on the goal you have!

  2. abbi says:

    Week 3 still looks pretty good. Looks like you are already doing well on your new goal too!

  3. Jill says:

    You are making steady progress, that’s excellent!!! Keep focused during these tempting-to-stray holidays (why o why must the holidays possess so much sugar?!?!), you’re doing awesome!!

    I’ll be in touch tomorrow with your Holiday Blog Buddy Gift Exchange person!! :) Have a great Sunday!

  4. Sherri says:

    Hello!
    I am so excited! I got your name for the gift exchange…so I thought I stop by your blog…and it looks like your freezing just like me..and having a hard time running in these conditions…just like me…but at least your reaching your goals…unlike me!
    I am excited to follow along on your blog
    Keep up the great work!=)
    It will warm up…someday!

Leave a Reply

