Week 8 and that rest-y week after the 10K, wait, what?

Here’s how my last week of HH training went before the 10K:

Pretty awful, huh? I had a bit of tendon stiffness/pain and decided to just rest up instead of overdoing it before the 10K. It turned out fine but I won’t subscribe to this as a recipe for success. Also, I really slacked off the cross training towards the end of the training plan.

Moving on

What now? I have my eye on the half at the Illinois Marathon. In preparation for that I’d like to sign up for the local running club’s training group which begins January 8th. I need to have run either a 5K or a 10K and be able to run 4-6 miles. Check. This is the program I choked at last time I started running, but I have time on my side now.

There are three things I’d like to address in the interim (Nov 8 to Jan 7):

  • Speed: I think this will happen on its own as I continue to run. I plan to introduce consistent speed workouts.
  • Happy joints & tendons: I’m going to stay well under the 10% rule every week
  • Weight: Here’s the biggie. I’d love to be able to run the half and NOT qualify for the Athena category. This means losing about 10 lbs.

Here’s my plan:

Gym means weights, elliptical, and weigh-in. Dun dun dun!

Thoughts? Comments? Does it look too crazy? Am I doing too much? Am I not doing enough?

Week 1

I took off the first run since I had so recently run the 10K but nailed all the other goals, even extending the long run a tiny bit because I was feeling great. Back in the game, baby. :D

This entry was posted in Interim, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 8 and that rest-y week after the 10K, wait, what?

  1. Way to listen to your body before the 10k. I think with the new plan you need to do the same thing; it might be too much too fast, but you never know until you try.

  2. Dee says:

    I agree with Kovas. Definitely listen to your body. That’s key. Either way, good luck chica! :)

  3. Rae says:

    Good luck training for a Half! That is awesome! I will agree with the others…listen to your body. Which I know you already do. :)

Leave a Reply

