New Territory

I need to post my weekly recap and monthly totals, but first thing’s first:

I ran 5.5 miles yesterday.

Did you read that?

Five and a half miles!

Why is 5.5 significant?

I’ve never run 5.5 miles before in my life.

When I started running in 2008 I made it to 5 miles on my own (no C25K). Unfortunately, because I wasn’t following a plan I did too much too fast, hurt my post-tibial tendon(s), and said screw it until earlier this year. Back then I got up to 5.02mi on Nov 22, 2008 and 5.23mi on Nov 28, 2008.

Yesterday I was slated to run 5.5 (after last week’s scheduled-5-miler-but-actually-4-mile-race). It was a jump in mileage but I figured I’d run it slowly and see how it felt. If the run went well I could decide to register for the 10K on Sunday. If not I’d just do the 5K and aim for a PR.

I was up visiting my parents for my dad’s birthday so my mom decided she’d bike alongside my long slow run. The weather was gorgeous. I love that I don’t have to wake up super early for longer runs now that it’s cooler out. My mom loaned me a pair of brown leggings (sadly sans stirrups) which I wore under my yellow pacer shorts and paired with a white and yellow shirt. I only wish I had a picture to show you how awesome that outfit was.

I put a loaf of bread in the oven and we were off!

I walked a 5 minute warm-up and then ran 2.5 miles before ending up at the house again to put foil on the bread (and use the bathroom – that was fortunate!). We stopped for ~7 minutes.

We headed back out again for the last 3 miles and my ptt stayed happy until mile 5 (!!) and even then it was slight. I think the quick break had something to do with it but even so I think it’s getting stronger with my PT exercises. It probably also helps that I’m getting back to yoga.

  • mile 1: 12:19
  • mile 2: 10:24
  • mile 3: 12:19
  • mile 4: 10:23
  • mile 5: 11:02
  • .5: 11:31
  • AVERAGE: 11:25

Based on how comfortable yesterday’s run was I think I’ll go for the 10K! 10Ks are harder to come by and I’ll definitely run it slowly. It’s my first 10K so it will give me an easy opportunity to beat my time next time as well. I can work on a 5K PR another time.

This entry was posted in 10K, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Territory

  1. Rae says:

    Congrats on your longest run to date!

  2. Dee says:

    awesome E! you go girl!

  3. Pingback: October in numbers « Canyon Cairns

Leave a Reply

