Catching my breath

I have a lot to catch up on but not too much to say. Basically I’ve been focusing on other parts of my life instead of blogging about workouts. I’ve caught up updating my workouts on dailymile.com which should be reflected in the twitter feed on the right side of the site.

I bought a bike!

It’s beautiful. It was expensive (though on sale). It might sound dramatic, but I finally pulled the trigger on it the day after I was in a car accident. The accident shook me up because I realized just how short life can be. I didn’t have to walk away from that accident in one piece. Running, yoga, and biking are all privileges I’m not entitled to. I was very very lucky for what it was (semi vs. Miata). I want to live my life to the best of my ability and riding a bike that fits me is one component of that goal.

I love it dearly. It’s a breeze to ride and I’ve been racking up the miles (54 miles to date!).

2009 17.5" Trek 7.2 FX

Why I’ve been riding a lot lately

I covet a triathlon experience. A few years back I swam a lot and really liked it. I don’t have anything in the way of natural talent but I love challenging myself and I feel comfortable in the pool. I also feel like I have a good beginning handle on the running thing, but I have zero experience on a bike. My two hang-ups about riding are 1) bikes are expensive and I tend to stray on the frugal side, and 2) bikes are dangerous! Apparently money can help both: I sucked it up and bought a decent fitness bike that can double as a commuter and invested in a good helmet, lights, etc. So far I’m loving it. I get a rush from biking that’s different than the runner’s high. I love pushing myself while riding.

There’s a triathlon in Champaign next September: 300m swim, 14.5 mile bike, 3.1 mile run. Yesterday I actually rode 14.5 miles and ran 3.5. I think I can handle it and possibly be competitive in time for next year’s tri!

I could buy or rent a racing bike for the race but at this point I’ve quite content challenging myself for my best performance on my current bike.

Running C25K with friends

I mentioned a few posts back that I started running with a new runner. That’s turned into two new runners and we’ve stuck to the C25K schedule. We ran 5-1 last night. It’s nice to go through the program again at a slightly faster pace and with company.

Running HH’s 10K novice training plan

As of last night I’m mostly on track with Hal Higdon’s 10K novice plan for a local 10K/5K on November 7th. Last night I ran approximately 1.25 miles with the girls (week 5, day 1) then supplemented with a nearly effortless 2.25 mile run to complete the long run for week 2 of the program. I’ve had a rough start meshing C25K and HH’s program, but I think I’ve got it. It will get easier once the walking intervals are done (in ~1 week).

And that’s what I’ve got right now. ;)

This entry was posted in 10K, Biking, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching my breath

  1. Jessica says:

    Awesome bike! I had no idea about your accident, so happy you’re okay and came out of it with such a beautiful attitude. Can’t wait to see your continued progress from the 5k to the 10k program. Gets me excited to start running again!

  2. Dee says:

    oh my word! you’ve been quite busy! and I love the part about how being physical is a privilege. I rarely stop and think that way, but it really is the truth.

    We should really be thankful to our bodies for all that it allows us to do. Thank you for pointing that out to me.

  3. Rae says:

    You were in an accident with a semi!?!? Scary! I am so glad you are ok!

    Awesome bike! Good for you for making your dreams come true. You will totally rock that tri next year!

Leave a Reply

