8/23 – quick update

Run!

I ran 30 mins at 11 mins & change. I think my body’s still a bit tired from last week. I felt like I had to push myself more than I should have for that pace. But if I consider the 5K as workout 9-2 this means I’m officially done with Couch to 5K! Woo!

What now? I originally planned on tackling Hal Higdon’s novice 10K program, but now I’m not so sure. I’m a little disappointed by my 5K time (though I shouldn’t be surprised – it’s comparable with my latest runs). Maybe I should focus on speed for a bit first?

Yoga!

Yoga was good last night. I can almost get my heels on the ground in downward dog, and I’m so close to coming down from plank completely controlled. That last inch is still keeping me back, but I think I may have done one successfully towards the end last night. I woke up with the wonderful feeling of being well stretched out.

I need to practice side planks and shoulder stands this week. My arms are so weak & short. I need stronger wrists and more shoulder/back flexibility to compensate.

This entry was posted in Challenges, Running, Update, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8/23 – quick update

  1. Dee says:

    congrats on being done with cto5k! u go!

    i need to try yoga!

  2. abbi says:

    10K sounds like a great new challenge! I’m a pretty big believer in building endurance (running more miles and/or more days – but not too much of course!) before working on speed. I’ve seen big improvements in my times just building endurance.

  3. Mark says:

    Hi, Elizabeth… this is Mark from dailymile. Given your big sprint at the end of Saturday’s 5K, I’d say you’ve got some speed potential waiting to be developed! My suggestion would be to dedicate one run each week to speed and one to endurance with two easier runs in between: easy, speed, easy, endurance, etc. The endurance runs could look like Higdon’s 10K Sunday runs. For the speed part, I’d suggest doing a mile at your regular pace, then a middle segment at a comfortably harder (CH) pace (maybe 10:10-10:30), and then a mile recovery at your regular pace. Gradually ramp up the duration of the middle CH segment each week until you can do 1.5 miles at that pace. Then try another 5K. With the cooler fall weather and extra adrenaline-boost of race day I bet you’ll be able to run close to your CH pace for the entire 5K (giving you a finish time around 32 minutes)… and your endurance will have improved, so you’ll be ready to tackle a fall 10K as well.

  4. Rae says:

    Congratulations on finishing C25k! That is a greast accomplishment! After I finished, I moved on to 10K training. When I finish that, I am going to work on speed. I think you could do either!

  5. Rae says:

    Hey Elizabeth! Check out my blog! I just gave you an award for rockin’ the C25K!

Leave a Reply

