Mahomet 5K report!

It went well!!

It didn’t storm, and it didn’t rain, and the threat of it kept the sun at bay. (wow! that’s melodic!) About the only thing interesting was a delayed start while some replacement volunteers scrambled into place. AND the boyfriend decided to join me last minute on the run despite completing a 70 hour work week (and, honestly, minimal coaxing on my part!).

Start

We started a bit too far back and spent the first half mile passing and sorting out a good place in the pack. I lost him early on, but we agreed that would be fine ahead of time. The course has a steady downhill for the first 1.5 mile, then has a series of rolling hills to gain back the elevation, and completes along a high school track. It’s not a chip-timed race so I would guess I started about 20 seconds behind the starting line.

First mile

I kept reminding myself to stay slow for the first mile. Nike+ told me I was averaging around 11. My first mile split was 11:22. I really should have sped up a little around 0.5 mile in and taken advantage of the downhill slope. During a crucial point in the water station hand-off I heard “Elizabeth!” and fumbled the cup. So sad. I got a fresh cup, sipped a little, waved to my enthusiastic friend, and kept on truckin’.

Second mile

It seemed like everyone was walking. How were all these people walking when I ran my way here? I dunno. All I know is I was passing, passing, passing and it felt goood. I settled into a 10:20 pace (or so). Second mile split was 22:33.

Third mile

The hills weren’t that bad. They were long but not nearly as steep at the hill I’ve been training on.

I neared the school much sooner than I thought seemed appropriate. Before I knew it I was heading down the ramp to the bouncy track!

Last 1/10th

Isn’t this little guy the worst? He wasn’t today! The track was nice to run on and, surprise! Boyfriend came up and ran next to me for the last little bit. Turns out he finished about three minutes before me. I passed one runner and was going to be happy with that, but he cheered me on and encouraged me to take the pack of runners in front of me. I ran absolute full-sprint at the pack of five and passed four of them right at the end (could have taken the last guy but didn’t want to be a jerk with a potential collision). I was cruisin’! When I really kicked it up at the end, boyfriend’s comment was “uh.. I can’t go that fast”.

I was really hoping to do better than my run two years ago (34:59.5), which I accomplished (so technically a PR?), but it wasn’t by very much: 34:41.3. I know I lost some time at the starting line, but I really wish I had run a bit faster in the beginning. And, I felt so much stronger than my previous race. Last time I remember just barely finishing and feeling like poopie. I felt much better this time (but I needed to walk off that sprint!).

Me: 34:41.3, 247/353 overall, 14/21 age group (last time I was dead last in my age group!)

Boyfriend: 31:44.0, 199/353 overall, 15/19 age group

Post-race

Excellent post-race party! Lots of food (Great Harvest Bread Co., fruit, snacks, water, Gatorade, etc), chatted with friends, and even met an Internet one in-person (hi, Mica!).

finish line

 

post-race party (with food!)

This entry was posted in Challenges, Races and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mahomet 5K report!

  1. Dee says:

    Ahh, I’ve been waiting for this post! I just got home from a full day out of the house and this was one of my first stops!

    Sounds like you had an awesome race and I must say every little bit counts so HOORAY on the PR! I think you feeling stronger really helped too! Glad to see your man supporting you. :D

    Oh and can I say how jealous I am that you got to have Great Harvest bread? :P We don’t have it in NYC and I’ve been hearing SO many good things about it. :)

  2. elizabethlacy says:

    Thank you!

    When you come visit me we’ll hit up GH! I love their low carb breads: they’re delicious (though expensive :( ).

  3. Tracy says:

    I’m so proud of you!!

  4. abbi says:

    Great job at your race!!

  5. Rae says:

    Great job!! Way to push hard at the end!

  6. Pingback: I ran my 5K! :) « wake up, little sushi.

  7. Kelly says:

    Great report! Fabulous race – There’s more to PR than just the time! You felt great and you learned some tweaks for your next race!

    • elizabethlacy says:

      You’re so right. :) I need to keep that in mind. I definitely couldn’t have done that sprint at the end last time. I felt so strong and that’s what counts, right?

  8. Jess says:

    Congrats, you did a great job! And it sounds like it was fun and a good feeling at the end. :) PRs are there for you to chip away it! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

