8/5

link goes to source

 

The last few days have been hot. For example, Tuesday evening (evening!) the heat index was 118 at 9PM. It had peaked a couple hours before at 126. The subtitle on our current weather conditions read “oppressive humidity” on Wednesday.

So yesterday it was off to the gym I went.

I walked in and was welcomed by cool air. I left my ID at the front, picked up a towel, and headed to the cardio room. They’ve closed the fire doors in the hallway to maintain a freezing cold weight room, cardio room, stretching room, and racquetball courts (it’s a small gym). It was bliss.

I did a proper stretch (always easier than at home), weighed myself (ick), and started walking on a treadmill. This week is week 7 in the C25K program, so it was another 25 minute run (with a 5 minute warm-up and 5 minute cool-down). I started the Nike+ to compare with the treadmill stats. Unfortunately, it looks like the Nike+ might be a bit off in calibration (though it could be differences in my stride on the treadmill). I’ll run with my GPS tomorrow to see for sure.

My Nike+ numbers were approximately equivalent to my run last Friday but I increased my pace over the run and felt stronger throughout. I’ve never been so happy to run on a treadmill!

This entry was posted in Running, Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 8/5

  1. Rae says:

    I ran on a treadmill for the first time today! It was pretty good. Glad I know I can do that come winter. You’re doing awesome with your 25 minute runs!!

  2. elizabethlacy says:

    Isn’t AC wonderful? I can’t wait for autumn temperatures – or even winter (for running only)!

Leave a Reply

