Hardest part of starting to run…

…is not running when you want to!

I know that sounds ridiculous. I feel like I complain a lot about the weather, my pace, the early wake-up call, being tired, blah blah blah. It’s challenging when I’m actually running and it doesn’t always feel good. Why do I want to run more? I’ve never considered myself a runner. Running isn’t fun.. is it?

Last time when I started running my biggest problem was doing too much too soon. It’s a common beginner problem. Your fitness level progresses faster than your joints & tendons do so you go for it! It’s exciting! You’re doing something good for your body, you’re a runner with a proper runner’s high. Then you get injured and no more running.

So when you start running you should begin with a program like Couch to 5K and don’t skip ahead! It might look easy in the beginning (and it probably is), but it’s worth following to get your joints & tendons adjusted to that type of activity. If it’s too easy then focus on form, speed, or breathing instead. If you really want to do more then cross-train on your off days. I got up to week 3 and restarted so a friend could join me. Week 1 the second time around still challenged me!

Also, if it’s too hard, just repeat a week. There’s no shame in it. Just make up a schedule and stick to it because at some point you’ll be running 25 minutes straight (tomorrow’s run!) and marveling at how easy it’s gotten.

So here I am, my muscles are tired from running but all I can think about is running again!

This kitty sums it up. :) Happy running!!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hardest part of starting to run…

  1. Rae says:

    So, so true! I thought for a second about skipping to week 2 or 3, but then changed my mind. I’m so glad I did the program to a T.

  2. abbi says:

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Definitely follow along…planning on doing some weekly questions/poll type things. If all goes well (and if I can keep up with it), I’m hoping to do more in the future too!

Leave a Reply

