New Shoes!

I’ve had my pink Mizuno Women’s Wave Riders since June 2008 when I was originally fitted for running shoes. I ran a 5K in August 2008 and ramped up my mileage to approach 6 miles around November. While I was getting into great shape, I began experiencing tendon pain towards the end of the month. Turns out I needed a motion control shoe, not neutral (and definitely shouldn’t have done so much so soon). I got orthotics in March 2009 but didn’t return to running until earlier this year (April). Instead I walked a LOT last year (August-January) – about 5-6 miles a day in those shoes. I decided I’d do it right this time around so I’m working my way through the C25K program.

I’m at the point now where I think my pink Mizunos (+orthotics) are beginning to fail me. Last week the bf and I went shoe shopping. Now he no longer has the excuse of no shoes to keep from running! :D I tried on a few motion control shoes (Saucony, Asics, Brooks). Turns out Mizuno’s the winner again!

Plus, (not that it matters at all) aren’t they pretty?

Mizuno Wave Alchemy

ok.. they’re prettier in person (more of a dark gray/sea foam contrast).

They were a bit uncomfortable to walk in at first but the running went well. I remember my pink Mizunos being the same at first.

I’d like to eventually ease into running in my Vibrams (actually did this on 2-3 with a neighbor the other day), but one thing at a time, no? Plus Vibrams would be awfully cold in the winter….

Vibram KSO

This entry was posted in Gear, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Shoes!

  1. Rae says:

    Very cute shoes!

  2. elizabethlacy says:

    Thanks! I know it doesn’t make any difference what they look like, but I’m smitten! It makes me want to run even more!

  3. Rae says:

    Oh yeah, I want mine to look good too. :)

  4. ella says:

    The pink Wave Riders were left behind at Restoration Gateway in Uganda in the summer of 2013. :)

Leave a Reply

